The Only 39 Road Trip Songs You’ll Ever Need

I’ve started writing some Buzzfeed posts lately for the Community section (it’s a shameless bid for employment at a later stage. Or, more specifically, internship, because I am terrified of being occupation-less on my off-term this winter).

I’m still getting the hang of it. I gif-searched for like 16 hours for my first post. It’s not this post. This one was better, so I’m posting it first, to soften the blow. Enjoy! Here’s a link, if you want to view it on Buzzfeed. The article has links to each song, and includes my minimal and censored witty commentary.

If you prefer the watered-down version, read on.

The Only 39 Road Trip Songs You’ll Ever Need

Bring on that horizon, baby, you’ve got tunes for miles.

39. Send Me on My Way- Rusted Root

38. Ways to Go- Grouplove

37. Girls Fast Cars- The Wombats

36. Miracle Mile- Cold War Kids

35. Highway to Hell- AC/DC

34. Life in the Fast Lane- The Eagles

33. I’ve Been Everywhere- Johnny Cash

I've Been Everywhere- Johnny Cash

32. Red Dirt Road- Brooks and Dunn

31. Born to Be Wild- Steppenwolf

“Head out on the highway, lookin’ for adventure.”
What this song lacks in a punny-road-trip title, it makes up for with a Wild Hogs-esque music video and pedal-to-the-metal lyric power.

30. 90 Miles an Hour Down a Dead End Street- Hank Snow

29. I Drove All Night- Celine Dion

28. Shut Up and Drive- Rihanna

27. Start Me Up- The Rolling Stones

26. Get Outta My Dreams, Get Into My Car- Billy Ocean

25. Mud On the Tires- Brad Paisley

24. Mustang Sally- The Commitments

23. Gas Pedal- Sage the Gemini

22. Six Days on the Road- Dave Dudley

21. I’m Gonna Be (500 Miles)- The Proclaimers

20. Life is a Highway- Tom Cochrane

19. Route 66- The Rolling Stones

18. Radar Love- Golden Earring

17. Ridin’- Chamillionaire

16. Paradise by the Dashboard Light- Meatloaf

This one’s great if you stop for a little roadside hanky panky in the middle of your trip.

15. Ramblin’ Man- The Allman Brothers

14. Greased Lightning- Grease

13. Ocean Avenue- Yellowcard

12. A Thousand Miles- Vanessa Carlton

11. Hitchin’ a Ride- Green Day

10. Fun, Fun, Fun- The Beach Boys

9. Where the Streets Have No Name- U2

8. I Ran (So Far Away)- Flock of Seagulls

7. The Distance- Cake

6. Runnin’ Down a Dream- Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers

5. Interstate Love Song- Stone Temple Pilots

4. No Sleep ‘Til Brooklyn- The Beastie Boys

3. Hit the Road, Jack- Ray Charles

2. Chasing Cars- Snow Patrol

1. AND FINALLY… Home- Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

